Ile-de-France is one of the smallest regions in France, however, it is the most populated. Although it is mostly comprised of Paris and its suburbs, there are 8 departments: Essonne, Hauts-de-Seine, Paris, Seine-Saint-Denis, Seine-et-Marne, Val-de-Marne, Val-d'Oise, and Yvelines. Because Paris is such a focal city in France, there is a separate page for it. Aside from the City of Light, Ile-de-France's other main tourist attraction is the Palace of Versailles, about 15 minutes away from Paris. Visitors can tour the gardens, including the mock peasant houses Marie-Antoinette had built to play in, and of course, King Louis XIV's extravagent estate.

Visit the official site!

Explore Ile-de-France
Click on an item to identify it and zoom in to view it.

Pictures of Ile-de-France - View More

Louis XIV & the Palace of Versailles

Statue of Louis XIV

Interior of the Palace of Versailles

Jardins de Versailles

Peasant houses in Versailles

More pictures in the Paris section

All pictures taken by the webmaster in 2004.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...