Franche-Comté is comprised of 4 departments: Doubs, Haute-Saône, Jura, and Territoire de Belfort. The region has a large area of forestial land. The capital of Franche-Comté is Besançon. The name "Franche-Comté" means "Free County." There are several stories suggesting how the region got its name, but the true origin is not known for sure. Many believe it comes from its freeing from the county of Burgundy. Famous French playwright Victor Hugo was from Franche-Comté.

Visit the official site!

Explore Franche-Comté
Click on a marked location to identify it, then zoom in to view it.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...